Testimonials

Here are a few comments that dog owners have made about Jo and her team at  Standish Dog Trainer…

Angela & Max (Mar 2017)

Jo and her staff have worked with me and my goldie Max for over 2 yrs now trying to encourage him to get into the car following bad bouts of travel sickness and diarrhoea, discovered on our first trip to one of Jo’s puppy classes. This meant we then had to abandon the class as Max was too ill to continue. In consultation with Jo I had some one-to-one sessions at home to coax him back into the car, but to no avail. We realised this was not going to be a quick fix! It required me to practise with him almost daily on my own. Jo was a marvellous support to me throughout this process. I have frequently asked for her advice and she has always contacted me promptly and given thoughtful responses and provided me with some much needed encouragement. Finally over 2yrs on Max is now travelling in the car!! Thanks for everything Jo. We couldn’t have done it without you!

Alex & Wilf (Aug 2016)

I just wanted to say a big thank you for having such a good time and such good success at your puppy classes with Wilf.
We couldn’t believe how well Wilf did. He was the first in the class to pick up everything and always with a wagging tail. He did absolutely brilliantly! He was brilliant at the little agility course and did everything straight away. We have discovered over these last few months that we have a very clever puppy!
I would love to get him into the next class up as soon as possible, please could you let me know as soon as you have a place. Because he did so well we want to keep going with him while he is so eager to learn so can’t come back soon enough for us!!

Helen & Monty (Jul 2016)

Just wanted to say a really big thank you  for the advice and time you gave us last week with Monty.
We’re all trying really hard with the ‘settle’ training now and are seeing big improvements in his mouthing behaviour.  The boys are happily playing with him and remembering to calm down a little with him rather than just abruptly stopping playing.

We really appreciate your help and would definitely  recommend you to friends and would also not hesitate to contact you again in the future.

Jane and Norman (2016)

I’ve really enjoyed the Twinkle Stars course and by the way Norman starts howling when we pull into the car park, I think he has too! You have a great team and we’re both looking forward to continuing our training.
Thanks again

Chloe and Scout (Jan 2016)

Thank you so much. Chloe and I really appreciated your supportive approach – we both feel really positive about sorting out those issues with Scout. Hopefully we’ll be in touch about getting her into some classes soon!

Jayne and Indy (Dec 2015)

We recently finished the Twinkle Stars training course with our 19 week old yellow Labrador Indiana (Indy)and would like to thank the trainers for such an enjoyable and informative course. The trainers enthusiasm and knowledge was a real benefit to understanding the initial approach to training.
Indy came on leaps and bounds (no pun intended) and thoroughly enjoyed himself.
We are looking forward to the next level after the New Year.
Thanks again, Jayne and Indy

Becky & Loki (June 2015)

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Jo, Kayleigh and Nat. As a first time dog owner I had more questions then google could answer and I appreciate every time you responded to my emails Jo.
Kayleigh’s home visit was a massive reassurance and really made me feel better about the way we had started training and looking after Loki at home.
The class size was small enough that each puppy and owner got individual attention and could all learn at the same time. and when it came to showing what we had learned it was great to see everyone encouraging the other dogs and owners.
We are both looking forward to moving into the next class.

Allan with Freya (April 2015)
I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the Twinkle Stars course and, of course, Freya did too!  I’d also like you to pass on my thanks to both Kayleigh and Nat for all their help and support.  The two ladies are very professional and their enthusiasm and genuine interest in both owners and dogs is very apparent.

Karen with Jojo (Mar 2015)
Just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed the puppy classes with Kayleigh. She’s been infinitely patient with all the dogs and especially with Jojo and her anxiety. She’s a good teacher and explains everything in plenty of details so that we all knew what was expected of us and our dogs. In my humble opinion, she has the makings of a really good teacher.

Rachel with Denzel (Mar 2015)
I would just like to say a big thank you to the team who run the foundation class, they have been brilliant and do a fantastic job in teaching us how to teach our dogs.

Anne with Lacey (Jan 2015)
Just wanted to say how much I’m enjoying the classes.  Everyone of you are so calm and welcoming and it’s a good atmosphere.  I’m delighted with how Lacey has come on after only three classes.  It gives me such a buzz to see her enjoying herself and growing in confidence.  The people who attend are all very nice too and it’s great to see people who are so dedicated to their dogs 🙂

Deb & Andrew with Bryan (Dec 2014)
Just thought I would give you a update on how Bryan’s doing with is training and to thank you for for all the great advise you gave myself and Andrew it as really made a difference. Bryan as met my Brother dog Lucy on Saturday and it couldn’t have gone any better they were running around in the garden for about an hour and playing with a ball so that was wonderful I was so worried they would not get on but was so relieved. He is doing great with the sit and wait at the front door and I get the door completely open and he will not go until he is told to go, same with his meals and sits outside the kitchen.Andrew is working with the loose lead walking and his slowly getting better. But he is getting loads of exercise with his boomer ball which I got just this week he loves it

Paul, Chloe & Lola (April 2014)
Sam helped us with our 7 month old Beagle Lola. She goes crazy for food so Sam taught us of couple of things to settle her down so we can actually enjoy a meal for once! He was really friendly both with us and Lola and in just one session has already helped us a lot. Would definitely recommend to anyone else.

Bernie, Simon & Penny (March 2014)
Hi Jo just to say thank you! to you and your team, for our first Agility class tonight with Penny she had a wonderful time. Myself and Simon are looking forward to our next class. See you next week Bernie Williams.

Jeanette and Max (Feb 2014)
So glad I found Jo, she’s really helped me with my twenty month old collie Max, as he used to nip me to the point of bruising my arms. I’ve learn’t how to settle Max and much more, so no more mouthing. Jo is so friendly and approachable nothing is too much trouble for her and her team that work with her are great. She has a great range of classes and we love going to them. I would definitely recommend Jo. Thanks

Kathryn (Feb 2014)
I had to write to say what amazing progress we’ve had with Cleo’s loose lead walking using the new technique you gave us on Tuesday. Even after 1 day the difference was clear but 48 hours after we stopped trying to give her treats and just stuck to what you said, well we just can’t believe it! She’s not the same puppy! I’m absolutely amazed. I knew whatever you told us to do would work but we just can’t believe it’s worked so quickly! Thanks a million Jo!!xx

Tiffany (Feb 2014)
My Springer Spaniel George and I were founder members of Nosey Parkers, and I think it is safe to say that we have found the activity of choice for George! He is never happier than when he has his nose down, and has a sniff to follow, and we have found the perfect way to channel what is, after all, the most natural thing in the world for him.

Cathy and Amy lead a fantastic class, with a variety of different ways of challenging the dogs…and handlers! The class is suitable for all dogs, and they tailor the activities to each dog in the class. As one of the more experienced teams in the group, I am seeing great progression in his skills, and in my handling and interpreting. Not only does the class teach George how to find the scented object, but he is also learning how to focus, be patient and to work with me effectively. And his settling in between turns has come on in leaps and bounds too!

Cathy explains what the aims of each activity are, and as each dog is working, she talks the other handlers through what they are watching. Cathy and Amy both have a great enthusiasm for working with dogs, and for what scent work has to offer, and it is clear that they love to watch the dogs work, and to help the handlers channel the dogs’ natural skills.

George and I love working together and not only does Nosey Parkers provide us with the ideal opportunity to do this, but also to spend time with other like-minded dogs and owners. In fact, I think the dogs enjoy the social side of the class almost as much as the scentwork! All the dogs are just having fun, doing what comes naturally and it’s not like work at all!
There is no greater recommendation than George’s reaction when he realises where we are going on a Saturday morning, and his sleepy state when the class is over. His brain has had a fantastic work-out , and we have both had a lot of fun in the process!

Tiffany and George xxx

Graeme (Dec 2013)
In July 2013 my wife and I took our puppy Digby to a Puppy Party hosted at our local Vets in Wigan. It was there that we first met the wonderful Jo Pay whose knowledge and love for all things furry and four – legged instantly put us at ease. Jo’s advice was invaluable to us who had never been responsible for something so wonderful as our Digby before.

Like any member of your family you want the best for your puppy and you cannot get better than Jo. From the very first Twinkle Stars class, to his graduation from Super Stars we have had incredible support from Jo and her great team.
Digby’s continued progression makes us very proud and we couldn’t have achieved this without Jo. We are already planning his continued development with Jo’s extensive range of classes.
Importantly there is no-one more excited than Digby on a Saturday morning when it’s time for his classes.  He loves socialising with the other dogs and he gets lots of play and attention from Jo’s team.
I would not hesitate to recommend Standish Dog Trainer – there really isn’t anyone better.

Graeme, Wendy and Digby Rawlings

Jo (Oct 2013)
Once again thank you for all your help Ailsa and I go walking with a smiley lead twice a day every day.

Craig (Sept 2013)
Dog training made simple!!!
I was hesitant taking the baby of the family to training classes, whilst happy with Ollie the way he is, our thought was to attend classes so Ollie had the ability to learn and understand, socialisation also lacked to human only contact with Ollie – on finding Jo’s website I become eager to attend and so glad I did!
First session and I’m so pleased with the further connection I was able to make with Ollie using a language both Ollie and I could understand.
We’ve had Ollie 4 months, we’ve tried for so long at home to try make him sit, stand, etc – Jo and her team put us to shame in the first 10 mins of being there.
Very much looking forward to attending next class and will surely be attending a lot more in the future.
I feel shameful thinking Ollie didn’t need training classes now… It’s done him to the world of good attending!

Elaine & Adam Rudduck (Aug 2013)
We are writing to you as we would like to tell you how pleased we were with the training that Sam gave both us and our new dog, Scrappy. Samuel gave clear simple instructions and was patient with all of us throughout. He provided some helpful tips that we have continued to use and now feel confident enough to let Scrappy off the lead  when we walk him. We would certainly recommend him to others.

Ali (May 2013)
I was looking for training classes in my area for socialisation of my rescue Rottweiler puppy & came across Jo’s web site. I knew that being a VSPDT trainer the classes would only include positive reinforcement & on that basis signed up! Jo made the classes fun for both my dog & myself, the training instructions were very clear & easy to follow. Jo is always available to answer questions outside of classes as well as during & is very helpful .Missie & I thoroughly enjoyed the training sessions & were sad when the course ended but are looking forward to KC Rally sessions with Jo in the near future! I would & do recommend Jo as a trainer to anyone!

Dean (May 2013)
Excellent service from start to finish of my puppy’s 6 week training course.  Fantastic use of positive training techniques, easily understandable for someone new to owning a puppy.  Could not fault any form of communication with Jo, she seems to have time for you whenever you contact her. Highly recommended!

Jenny (May 2013)
We attended your twinkle stars class this morning with little Sookie, both trainers were lovely and Sookie finally found the courage to play with the other dogs (yey)

Kayleigh (Mar 2013)
“Della (Border Collie) and I have been clients of Jo’s for a few months now attending Agility classes. Della adores Jo and thoroughly enjoys her classes! I have a lot of respect for Jo and her team, they really are dedicated and all the dogs (and owners) have fun whilst they learn.  I highly recommend Jo; she is very professional, knows her stuff and does it all with a smile!”

David & Gillian (Feb 2013)
We were really at our wits end regarding our Sheltie dog Riley.He was OK pottying outside during the day but during the night he just kept leaving little presents for us to find the following morning and it was really wearing a bit thin having to clear it up.After contacting Jo she suggested no feed after 5pm then a walk around the block at night then out in the garden for 10 mins then finally putting him a crate/cage for the night and switching the light off in the kitchen.This has miraculously worked a treat as since we tried it we have had no problems and up to now have had 5 clean nights continuously.We really can’t thank Jo enough for her advice and would highly recommend her.
PS Riley is a 4 month old Shetland Sheepdog.

John & Anne (Nov 2012)
Jo had a very positive attitude and was very good handling our dog during the session. She helped me to reinforce points that we were already doing. Jo keeps in contact with us on a  regular basis , to check Georgie’s progress and only this week she as asked me if I need any further help which we both find very reassuring.

Gwen (Sept 2012)
Jo is very professional puts you at ease and your dog(s) they all love her.  I was extremely worried about the puppy I had purchased thinking he may have to go back to the breeder that he wouldn’t fit in with my other dogs, now he is lovely I am so glad that I found Jo, I have already recommended her to people I have met who have problems with their dogs.

Stacey, Guy, Ryan, Charlotte & Ruddy (Jul 2012):

Thank you so much for all of your help over the past few months with Ruddy! After plenty of ups & downs, laughs & tears Ruddy is proving to be a valued member of the family. We couldn’t have done it without your expert help. Thank you again, can’t wait to see you again for agility training!

Cathy & Dave, Hindley (May 2011):

“Jo Pay is fantastic! Her excellent skills and approachable manner are second to none. She left us after each visit feeling confident that we could carry out the training she had taught us with our 2 dogs and that it WOULD work 😀 We had a number of 1 to 1 visits to our home and have attended Jo’s training classes also. My husband and I always leave each session full of enthusiasm and great ideas of things we can try with our dogs. Jo has opened up a whole new world of training and rewarding play and she always has something new and different to try. She has a bubbly personality and always makes you feel much more than a valued client but like part of something very special.”

Steve, Adlington (March 2011):

“A very good course.”

Gillian & Ron, Cheshire (Feb 2011):

“Jo is a very knowledgeable & professional trainer – she has helped us tremendously with our Cairn terrier. She even advised us about his food, which we have actioned – not only that, we passed on her advise to a friend with a dog who was suffering fits – they also changed his food & their dog hasn’t had a fit since.”

Sara, Whittle – le – Woods (Feb 2011):

“I can’t recommend Jo highly enough. We started out with 2 dogs and despite immense effort from Jo and us, their behavioural issues meant that we were unable to keep them. When we brought another dog into our family we still had some difficulties but Jo supported us both inside the class and out. She trained us in the right techniques so that we could train our dog. She was always at the end of the phone for advice (and I rang an awful lot!), and also via email. Jo clearly is an expert in her field……this has come to fruition today when, finally, our dog seems to have turned a corner. We do not, in any way, underestimate how much this is as a direct result of Jo’s help and support.”

Stacy, Adlington (Jan 2011):

“My trainer Jo Pay was wonderful! She explained everything i needed to know about my puppy’s behaviour, she was very friendly and extremely helpful…our home life is a much calmer and happier place since we started using the positively training. Many thanks!!”

Cairi & Yvonne, Southport (Dec 2010):

“Jo was very effective from the minute she came into contact with the dogs in that she demonstrated from the start how to positively enter the dogs space. She demonstrated during the training the watch me and explained clearly the settle training. Handouts were very useful and since the training we have been encouraged to keep in touch with Jo which is very reassuring.”

Jackie with Reg Irish Terrier (March 2009):

“My recall worked perfect first time, I could have cried I was so proud of him! Thank you for all your help!

“He has been brill and last sat I took him to the local woods with a friend (and her basset) and let him off the lead for 2 hours with other dogs (woo hoo I hear ya cry!). The best bit is…my recall worked perfect first time-he just looked at me and came running, I could have cried I was so proud of him! Other doggie people asked how I had taught him that at 10 months…so be warned I’ve told tons of people about you!

“Please, again let me know if you ever do an advance class, Reg really loved coming, he is fab on the lead, even Wayne the hubby has said how good he is over the fields etc.

“So again thank you for all your help!!”

Beth, Phil and Indi.T.Dog with Husky x Retriever (March 2009):

“I wanted to tell you how much I have enjoyed the last six weeks despite looking like I was asleep most of the time! Beth says this is the third time she has been to dog training (not with me I hasten to add) and this by far was the best one – she was dreading another round of cramped village halls full of badly behaved doggies and even worse behaved humans – so it was a big relief on that first Saturday morning to find that fun was the order of the day, and that the humans were taught to actually care for their doggie friends rather than just make them walk to heel, the Doggy Oil Change session was particularly handy and would have come in very useful with my predecessor apparently who bit anyone with a brush! And Phil – as a first time dog owner – says he feels a lot more confident in teaching me stuff and has realised that I am not as bad at things as he thought I was – so thanks for that!”

Eleanor & Archie Mini Schnauzer (March 2009):

“Just wanted to say a big thank you for helping Archie and me.

“Just wanted to say a big thank you for helping Archie and me. I think Archie had it all the time – it was me needing a framework to work to. He’s coming on a treat. We’ve just had a fab weekend away walking in the Dales. Archie was very well behaved in the hotel – to the point that the owner commended us when we left! How proud am I? Thanks!”

Tony & Denise with Rough Collie Finlay (May 2008):

“Problem Pooch to Show Stunner in just 5 weeks!!

“We are the proud owners of a 2 year old Rough Collie who, due to the fact that he had been twice attacked by another dog whilst out for a walk, naturally developed a distrust of others dogs, which meant he “warned them off” whenever he saw them. Whilst this was tolerable for a pet, for a dog that we wanted to put in the show ring it was a nightmare.

“Just 5 weeks after meeting Jo, having followed her advice and attended her Saturday morning class, we took him to his first show.

“The result was unbelievable. He was not only well behaved, but won every one of the four classes that he was entered into, and qualified for Crufts to boot! An unprecedented performance. Only once before had the judge awarded four first places to the same dog, and that was back in 1985!

“We were stunned and can’t thank Jo and Sarah enough for their advice and their patient, reward based approach.”

Bella the Boxer (May 2008):

“Hi Jo, I would like to thank you for teaching my owners how to look after me, I have been with them just 3 months now (As I am only 5 months old). To be honest when they first got me they did not have a clue but with your help we have sorted them out. They learned that if they blow a whistle I will run to them and they give me a really good treat (how good is that) and if I save my Ps & poos til the morning and do it outside they give me another treat. So Thank You for all the help you have given them from Bella Boxer.”

Phil with Sidney Jack Russell Terrier (May 2008):

“Thank you for everything. You have transformed Sid, he’s a totally different dog. Your classes are brilliant!”

Lennie with Sue & Marion (October 2007):

“Just a quick message to let you know that we can now hoover, brush and mop! Thanks for your help.

“Lennie picked all of this up very quickly. He will sit and tolerate being brushed, as long as biscuits are in evidence. He now looks tidy before he shakes again and looks like a little urchin.”

Patricia with Annie Border Collie & Gracie Springer (October 2007):

“Jo was friendly and reassuring to both dogs and owners! Jo obviously knows her stuff and her input has already made a big difference. We would highly recommend her and thank her for her help.

“Jo was flexible with arranging visits. She assessed the individual needs of two very different rescue dogs. She offered solutions and ways of working that were practical and gave us confidence in dealing with long term problems. She was non-judgemental with us and non-threatening towards the dogs.”

Angela with Trixie Border X Patterdale (October 2007):

“Jo helped us after our vet told us we needed to have our dog put down because of her extremely aggressive and uncontrollable nature. Jo’s teaching was first class and I can’t thank her enough for her help and guidance. I’m certain that without this, Trixie would not be with us today.

“After a few one to one sessions, Trixie’s behaviour turned around dramatically. As with all problem dogs, we were part of the problem, and by altering our behaviour, hers altered too. After these one to one sessions, she was finally ready to go to Jo’s group classes, which we’d previously tried to attend but Trixie was so aggressive we felt it was unfair on the other people and dogs so left. This time though she was like a new dog, she say quietly and played with the other dogs nicely. She was even allowed off the lead, which in the first lot of classes would have been too dangerous. We still have to be careful with her, and she is by no means perfect, but we can now manage her behaviour.”

Martin & Labrador Mollie:

“Jo is clearly very knowledgeable regarding training methods and is extremely enthusiastic and committed. We would not hesitate to recommend Standish Dog Trainer to any dog owner.

“My dog Mollie, was very nervous and timid in unfamiliar company but after only a couple of sessions she was visibly growing in confidence and in her ability to complete the tasks required. Classes were well organised and had clear objectives. Very quickly Jo was able to become familiar with each animal and showed genuine affection and interest in them.”

Becky & Cocker Spaniel Albus:

“I thought you would like to know how much we enjoyed the time spent in your classes, keep up the good work.

“I did not get a chance to thank you for all you have done over the last 12 weeks. You do a job where you praise the dogs, but never you! You have had to suffer my spoiled brat and never grimaced once! So I though you would like to know how much we enjoyed the time spent in your classes!”

Mark, Elaine, Josh & Zephyr Bull Terrier:

“Just a quick note to say thanks for your help in training our English Bull Terrier. We have seen a definite improvement in his overall obedience. The training has been both beneficial and enjoyable.

“The use of your positive reinforcement training is probably the only thing that would have worked on him. We are more comfortable walking on his lead, his recall training has worked. He will also “sit” and “down” on command. We look forward to joining the next class and introducing Zephyr to more doggy friends.”

Janet & Hector King Charles Cavalier Spaniel:

“Where has my noisy, yapping, pulling on the lead dog gone? He is a changed boy already. Thanks ever so much – really pleased. God Bless you Joanne – you are a saint!”